Sorry, what were you saying?

DSC_7581

Take a second…actually take a few minutes…take a few hours…take the rest of the day and disconnect.

Close your eyes and let your other senses take over…maybe go somewhere where you can enjoy the sounds, the smells and the feeling of nature…listen to the wind…to the birds…flowing water, or lapping waves…take in the aroma of the woods…the salt air of the ocean…the freshness of a meadow.  Maybe you can take in some tactile sensations…the feeling of your toes in the sand, or bare feet in the grass…touch the earth…care for a plant or a tree…weed your garden…pick an apple or pear from a tree….pick some berries…take a bite:-).  Bring a friend, bring your family, or bring a loved one…enjoy the conversations…enjoy the quality time…enjoy the companionship…enjoy the love.

In our busy lives some of these simple pleasures are often undervalued and underappreciated.  All too often we are distracted by self-imposed activities and technology.  We feel anxiety if we are not doing something all of the time. We feel the need to overbook our schedules… to account for every minute of the day.  Plus throw technology into the mix…that constant need to be connected…social media, text messaging… the need for continuous electronic stimulation.

I’m sure for a lot of people disconnecting from social activities, and technology would cause major anxiety…but give it a try…what do you have to lose?  Think of what you will gain…a little peace…a little quiet…a little “me” time….a little quality time with those that matter…some memories maybe…a feeling of calm…connecting with nature…reduced blood pressure…a lung full of fresh air…an appreciation for what is real…an appreciation of life…beauty…pure beauty.

Anyway…in writing this I realize I should be somewhere else…there is an ocean with my name on it to visit:-).  In a recent message from Mary she wanted to remind us that our senses are often bombarded by artificial stimulus, much of it self-imposed.  We are keeping ourselves distracted from life. She wanted us to break free every now and then…make it a priority to connect with nature and loved ones…take in what is around us…enjoy the things that really matter…look into our hearts and connect with those we love.

…and this is according to Mary!

24 thoughts on “Sorry, what were you saying?

  1. After my own heart! It’s not easy to espouse disconnectedness on a blog site, but I do the same thing! Shut this thing off and get outside!

    Take care and keep in touch,

    Paz

  2. Hi, thanks for ‘liking’ my blog post. I’m glad we connected. My middle name is Magdeleine–spelled a little differently. I’m going to follow your blog. Nature is the closest thing to God! Gerri

  3. Thank you for the encouragement! I was at the beach yesterday. It was full of people. But next week, when school starts, when the tourists go home, the beach and the water can be so relaxing. Sometimes I wake up at 6:30 am, jump in my car and drive 15 min to the shore – almost nobody is there. I walk and pray, I pray and walk…

  4. How funny, i have just decided to do this today. I now turn my phone off most of the day and only turn it on twice a day now same with social media. It makes me feel so much more at peace. Thank you for reminding me that this is a good option 🙂

Leave a Reply

