Take a look around

Look around

Take a look around…look at what you have…are you happy?  Do you have enough?  Are you content with what you have? Do you want more? Do you need more?  There’s a difference isn’t there?

…in a recent message from Mary she wanted us to ask these questions…because when is enough, enough.  There’s a fine line between happiness and selfishness.

We seem to live in a time when instant gratification is part of the culture.  Let’s face it, if there’s something that pops into your head at 2:00 am you can pretty much log on and order it right then and there.  We’ve turned into a disposable culture.

Mary wanted us to think about the things in life that truly make us happy.  It’s not the material possessions is it?  Those are the nice to haves.  It’s the things in our lives that are truly rewarding.  The people, the work that we do, the impact we have on others.  It’s appreciating the gifts that the universe and nature provides…as compared to the things that we can buy.

…so Mary wanted us to stop and take a look around….what are the things that we need in life and what are the things in our lives that we can do without.  Look inward for your happiness…look to your loved ones…look for the gifts that nature provided…including our furry little friends :-)…look for true happiness as compared to selfishness…because usually happiness helps and heals you and others…meanwhile selfishness can harm and hurt yourself and others.

…and this is according to Mary!

11 thoughts on “Take a look around

  1. Good points. It’s good to think about this stuff every once in a while. I was having a discussion with a friend last night about this sort of thing. She thinks I’m too hung up on money and material things. I’m not. What I’m hung up on is FREEDOM and my (our) lack of it here in the US. Money is the only way I can see to get some of that freedom back which is all important to me. Maybe some people can live the way they want without money, but even my friend admits she has someone else who supports her.
    Your questions am I happy? (no), Do I have enough? (no), Am I content with what I have? (NO!). Do I want more? (YES). Do I NEED more? (YES!!!). All of that is regards to freedom and my ability to live MY life the way I want to.
    Some people insist they can have freedom even while locked up in prison. I don’t understand that at all, but if it works for them, then I guess it’s OK for them. It’s NOT OK for me.
    I guess what I’m getting at with all my rambling on is this: does it REALLY make so many people happy to deprive others of their freedom? If not, why do so many people go along with it? Why do so many people promote that? Why do so many people seem so happy about it? Why do so many people seem to enjoy seeing others hurt/suffering?

    • I’m curious. What is it, exactly, that you feel lots of money gives you the “freedom” to do that is otherwise lacking in your life without it? What do you mean by being robbed of your freedom in the US with regard to money? In my opinion there is already way too much of it floating around, hence the rising cost of everything-because people spend without any caution or consideration for value. Maybe I missed something in your post. Are you living poorly due to lack of money? If so, I am very sorry about that.

      • Hi Cheryl,
        Thanks for caring enough to ask.
        I think it’s fairly obvious that people with lots of money in this country (or anywhere in the world) get to do pretty much whatever it is they want.
        They can buy their way around the rules that the rest of us have to follow.
        If I had lots of money, I could spend most of my time in other countries where they pretty much leave you alone. They don’t have the NSA or drones spying on your every thought and action.
        I don’t feel I’m being robbed of my freedom here because I don’t have lots of money. EVERYONE here is being robbed of their freedom. It’s just that most people don’t seem to know or care about it. I think that’s really sad. I can give you multiple examples of things just in my lifetime that we’ve lost. Here are a few… seatbelt laws, can’t legally ride in the back of trucks anymore, helmet laws, traffic cameras, cameras pretty much EVERYWHERE, NSA, spying on you EVERYWHERE, TSA= loss of freedom to travel without having my RIGHTs violated, it goes on and on and on.
        I’m not living poorly because of lack of money. I have enough to pay my bills and I can get away every so often. I AM living poorly because of my loss of freedom. I don’t know about you, it seems that it doesn’t bother most people at all. Maybe I’m just weird, but it DOES bother me ( a LOT).
        My friends all tell me to just do what I want and ignore the rules and regulations. I do some of that, but it still bothers me. Why should I HAVE to? Why are those rules and regulations there in the first place? Most of them are not necessary at all. Knowing that is what makes my life poorer.

      • Hi Jill, I am so glad you replied. We are definitely on the dame page except I have raied my boys who are all quite of the same mind ad you. They simply have chosen ti live with what they can afford and ared oung their best to raise awareness and live authentically the best way they can. I do understand how you feel about having the money to travel. But it can be done with not so much either. If you have the drive, the tenacity and faith in the help from the universe, you can make it anywhere you choose. I have lived in anither country where the goal is purely about living a natural life. I am hoping to return there soon. We came back here due to family issues and the hope of doing, as you wish, making more money for an improved life, even there. Instead, our bank account has seemd to only dwindle with the rising cost of everything, the regulate-us-to-death rules and taxes on my husband’s small business, the doctors who didn’t rehire me for my old job even though they sorely needed someone, simply to punish me for leaving in the first place, and the customers who expect my husband to work like a dog repairing equipment that should be butied and then once he has resurrected it they don’t want to pay. They all want to hang on to their money! This is why there is not seemingly enough to go around. Everyone biews it as the answer to all of their woes. To me this post about reevalutaing our priorities apllies to any and all who feel money is what makes their lives truly rich. I am here to tell you that it never does. There wasa. Time when people lived as a community, sharing talents and goods, trading to live. It was harmonic and balanced. If you would like to know more about my life in another country pkease do visit my blog sometime and go to the older posts, the ones from last march and on. I do hope you continue to try to change the world. Don’t let anyone force you into their own state of apathetic complacency. But choose your battles carefully and you will find the greatest war rages within. You are not a prisoner. Your soul is free. Pura Vida! And big hugs to you.
        Cheryl

  2. In this economy with all of its uncertainy and unemployment, I’m sure there are a lot of people who would say they don’t have enough, and are worried for their future. I don’t know if that’s what Capt Jill was trying to say, but I know I’ve met more than my fair share of people who need more money. Not because of greed, just to pay the bills. It’s a time to re-evaluate, get different training, get a different kind of job, it’s a time for growth, but also a time of uncertainty and that can lead to fear. I find that my trust in God is even more important than ever. I have changed careers, and money is not as plentiful as it was in my past. God always makes me feel taken care of, like I matter, like I make a difference. And the more I tune in to Him, I get answers to my pressing questions, assuage my fears and figure out what to do with my life. And I do believe He is talking through Mary Magdeline, through our guardian angels, or whomever we pray to. When we ask a question, and then we meditate, or get quiet and tune out the world, we will get our answer. None of us is ever abandoned or really alone. It just feels that way sometimes, when we stop praying. Capt Jill I will add you to my prayers. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

